Tax Act are administered by Customs and Excise, as are statutes of other government departments and agencies that relate to the international movement of persons and goods.

Minister responsible:

Minister of National Revenue

Revenue Canada Taxation

Head office 875 Heron Road Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L8

District offices: all provincial capitals (except Fredericton) as well as Vancouver, Penticton, Calgary, Saskatoon, Thunder Bay, Sudbury, Hamilton, Windsor, London, Kitchener, St. Catharines, Mississauga, Scarborough, Belleville (with a sub-office in Kingston), Ottawa, Rouyn, Laval, Montreal, Saint-Hubert, Sherbrooke, Quebec district office sub-offices in Chicoutimi, Rimouski and Trois-Rivières, Saint John (with a sub-office in Bathurst), Sydney.

Information: any district taxation office.

Revenue Canada Taxation administers the government's tax policy, which is initiated by the Department of Finance. It assesses and collects individual and corporate income taxes under the Income Tax Act of Canada. Individual income tax is collected for all provinces except Quebec, and corporate tax is collected for all provinces except Quebec, Ontario and Alberta. The department also collects Canada Pension Plan contributions and unemployment insurance premiums.

Minister responsible: Minister of National Revenue

Royal Canadian Mint

Head office 320 Sussex Drive Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G8

Regional offices: Winnipeg, Ottawa.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 993-3500 (administration); to order Olympic gold coins call, in the Montreal area, 1-800-361-0170, and in the rest of Canada, 1-800-267-1871.

The Mint is authorized to produce and supply Canadian coins, including circulating, collector and bullion coinage. The Mint also produces medals, medallions, tokens, trade dollars, plaques and badges and is authorized to melt, assay and refine gold. It accepts contracts to mint coinage for other countries as well.

Minister responsible: Minister of Supply and Services

Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Head office Headquarters Building 1200 Alta Vista Drive Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0R2

Local offices and detachments: throughout Canada.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 993-9590.

As the federal police force, the RCMP is responsible for the prevention and detection of offences committed against federal statutes and for the provision of investigative and protective services to federal departments and agencies.

Minister responsible: Solicitor General of Canada

The Saint Lawrence Seaway Authority

Head office Place de Ville, Tower A 320 Queen Street Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5A3

Regional offices: Cornwall, St. Catharines, Montreal (Saint-Lambert).

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 598-4614.

The Authority was incorporated for the purposes of constructing, operating and maintaining, either on its own in Canada or in conjunction with works undertaken by an appropriate authority in the United States, a deep waterway between the Port of Montreal and Lake Erie; constructing, operating and maintaining alone or jointly or in conjunction with an appropriate authority in the United States, bridges connecting Canada with the United States; acquiring shares or property of any bridge company; and operating and managing bridges.

Minister responsible: Minister of Transport

Science Council of Canada

Berger Building 100 Metcalfe Street Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5M1

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 992-1142.

The Science Council of Canada, created in 1966, is Canada's national advisory agency on science and technology policy.

Minister responsible:

Minister of State for Science and Technology